Marketplace for Freelancers & Businesses

How long have you been a freelancer?

Cpvr

Novice Trader
Staff member
Community Moderator
Credits
How long have you been a freelancer? What originally got you started as a freelancer? Are you working as a freelancer full-time or part-time?

I have been a freelancer now for 12 years, taking a small break between 2017 - 2022 to take on another venture before coming back to freelancing in October of 2022 and working full-time as a freelancer since then.

It's been a journey over the last year and a half but I have enjoyed my work.

I started my journey as an online freelancer in 2008. I ventured into the field of blogging on my personal websites. My travel-related website brought in a decent income. However, unfortunate personal circumstances led to the oversight of renewing my websites. Consequently, I transitioned to pursuing opportunities as a content writer. Initially, I acquired a client from within my country and dedicated over a year to working with her. Over time, I explored different freelancing platforms and successfully secured some foreign clients. Despite occasional monotony, I persist as a full-time online freelancer due to my inability to work outside the home because of a chronic condition.

I've been freelancing for over 5 years now, and it's been a good journey for me. In the process, I've learned so much about myself, my skills, and the industry that i'm in. I've also have my fair share of ups and downs too.

I'm not freelancing now, but I did for a bit, and it was part-time.

I got into it after working with others on a project which led to some gigs.