Marketplace for Freelancers & Businesses

What tips do you have when you edit your own work?

Shortie

Apprentice
Credits
As a writer, one of the jobs we have is proofreading and editing our work. This can sometimes be fairly simple or could be a little more complex depending on the kind of work completed,

As a writer, when you proofread and self-edit your work, what tips do you have to help you? Are there any tips you could give to help others?

After writing I wait for some time to pass before I edit my work, sometimes I even wait for days to pass. This will give me a fresher perspective of my work and ideas on how I can edit it better.

What I do is to first take a break to clear my mind and I read aloud to help me detect wrong phrasing. lastly, I check for the writing style and tone as well. These steps work pretty well.

I work as a content writer, and I have nearly five years of experience in this field. Despite this, I still consider myself a work in progress and believe that there is always room for improvement. My work primarily involves creating engaging and informative content. This includes short and long articles. After completing a task, especially when the deadline is not looming, I find it vital to take a day off to relax and recharge. This period of rest is not just a break, but a rejuvenating experience that allows me to return with a fresh perspective when I review my work.

Once I feel rejuvenated, I proofread. I carefully go through my work to identify areas that need improvement and make necessary edits. This stage often involves rephrasing sentences, correcting punctuation and grammar errors, and so on. I strongly believe that proofreading is a task best approached with a clear and alert mind. Therefore, I avoid proofreading when I am feeling dog-tired, as I am more likely to overlook mistakes in that manner. By following this proofreading process, I can submit work that meets the required standards of my client.